REVIEW: JORN “Life On Death Row”

Jorn Lande teams up with Mat Sinner and his band for new release.

I think it’s fair to say that Jorn and Mat Sinner are two of the hardest working and most consistent guys in the biz for the last couple of decades. Sinner has his own band, Primal Fear, Rock Meets Classic, Voodoo Circle and other projects.  Jorn has consistently cranked out album after album of great Hard Rock and Metal.

Jorn has one of the best voices in the biz too, he’s the perfect combination of Coverdale and Dio, but you still know it’s him.  I’ve always love Sinner’s voice to because it’s different, more of a growl and sneer than the clean singing you hear in his other band Primal Fear where Ralf Scheepers takes the lead.

Alex Beyrodt has taken over the guitar duties in Primal Fear and Sinner as well as his Voodoo Circle band.  He’s an extremely accomplished player.

Allesandro Del Vecchio has also teamed up with Sinner and has become a vital part of Frontiers Records and a highly sought out keyboardist. The same can be said for Francesco Iovino on drums, he’s in both Primal Fear and Sinner now and has become a big time player.

So, now that I’ve set up everything by explaining how great these guys are and what big fan I am, I have a little bad news.

I’m not crazy about this release.

The positives.  The production and song construction are amazing. There’s some cool stuff going on with the backing vocals and Jorn sounds amazing. Yes, everything is there except the fact that I’m just not connecting to most of the songs.

I can’t give the excuse that this is essentially a project because musically it’s very tight.  But other than “Man Of The 80’s”, I’m not hearing the memorable songs that I’m used to with Sinner and Jorn.

The songs are certainly more mature in nature, it’s a pretty serious album, which doesn’t bother me.  I do think this is an album that needs several listening sessions and will actually stand the test of time, but on first impression it doesn’t jump out.

So, am I recommending you skip this one?  On the contrary, it’s still enjoyable hearing Sinner and Jorn together.  When you’re a fan of their body of work like I am, there’s almost no way it could live up to expectations anyway.  You have to appreciate the musicianship and quality of the work, and besides, it’s still better than anything on modern rock radio!

“Life on Death Road” track listing:

01. Life On Death Road
02. Hammered To The Cross (The Business)
03. Love Is The Remedy
04. Dreamwalker
05. Fire To The Sun
06. Insoluble Maze (Dreams In The Blindness)
07. I Walked Away
08. The Slippery Slope (Hangman’s Rope)
09. Devil You Can Drive
10. The Optimist
11. Man Of The ’80s
12. Blackbirds

JORN is:

Jorn Lande – Vocals
Alex Beyrodt – Guitars
Mat Sinner – Bass
Alessandro Del Vecchio – Keyboards
Francesco Iovino – Drums



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *